ORCV Offshore Championship


The Notice of Race for the 2016/17 series is below

2016-2017 Offshore Championship Notice of Race (V1.00 Final)

The Perry Fletcher Clipper Trophy

The ORCV Offshore Championship is awarded annually from the following eligible ocean yacht races in the season (best 4 races to count):

Eligible ocean races:

  • ORCV Melbourne to Portland or Melbourne to Stanley
  • ORCV Melbourne to Hobart Westcoaster
  • ORCV Melbourne to Hobart Eastcoaster
  • ORCV Melbourne to Devonport or Melbourne to Launceston (Rudder Cup)
  • ORCV Melbourne to King Island
  • ORCV Melbourne to Port Fairy
  • ORCV Melbourne to Apollo Bay
  • ORCV Melbourne to Vanuatu (in the years it is conducted)

If Alternative Bay courses are sailed, results will not count towards the Offshore Championship series scores.


The ORCV season relates to ocean races that are completed between 1 July and 30 June.


The Offshore Championship series requires no explicit entry and entry is free in itself.  Entry in any ORCV ocean race shall automatically constitute entry to the Offshore Championship.


Offshore Championship series scores are determined on Low Point System (RRS 90.3), best 4 races to count, for each Handicap Category (AMS, IRC and PHS).  1 Point is allocated to First place, 2 Points allocated to Second place, etc.

In the event that for an individual race there were insufficient Handicap Category entries to award trophies and/or prizes, Points will still be awarded for all positions in that race in the Offshore Championship series Point Scores.

Overall Offshore Champion

The Overall Offshore Championship winner is determined on Low Point System, best 4 races to count, from any Handicap Category.  If a yacht enters multiple Handicap Categories in a race, their best Point Score from any Handicap Category in that race, is used to aggregate their Offshore Championship series Point Score.  

Past Offshore Champions

Season     Boat            Owner/Skipper
2015/16 White Noise Daniel Edwards
2014/15 Spirit of Downunder Lawrence Ford
2013/14 Seduction Richard Nichols
2012/13 Bandit Ashley Trebilcock
2011/12 Dry White Donald Fraser
2010/11 eXtasea Paul Buchholz
2009/10 eXtasea Paul Buchholz