Latest News and announcements from ORCV

2015 AGM Congratulations Robin Hewitt- Ocean Racer of the Year.

Congratulations Robin Hewitt- a legend of the sport and the 2015 Ocean Racer of the Year.

Robin was presented the prestigious Shenandoah II Perpetual trophy for the Ocean Racer of the Year award at the ORCV AGM  at RMYS . He has successfully campaigned his yacht Yoko for many years and has mentored novice crew along the way alongside his outstanding contributions to the Committee and as a dedicated trainer for activities.

Laurie Ford and his crew aboard Spirit of Downunder won the Perry Fletcher Perpetual Trophy for the Offshore Championship.

Richard Gates and his crew aboard Absolut took the honours for the Winter racing, receiving the Lord Warden’s trophy for the overall winner of the series.

Lynda Brayton, skippering Samskara, won the Custom Yacht Covers Perpetual trophy for the Women Skippers and Navigators race for her 1st place in PHS.

Jacqueline Prestedge, skippering One for the Road, won the Custom Yacht Covers Perpetual trophy for the Novice Skipper for the Womens Race. This trophy was a new initiative for the season and generously donated by our Sponsor, Sue Bumstead of Custom Yacht Covers.

2015 AGM and Trophy Presentation- See you there!

Reminding you that the AGM and Season Trophy Presentation will take place on Tuesday 6th October 2015 at Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron.

Come and hear about the Club’s achievements and initiatives and celebrate with the winners and grinners, including the announcement of the Prestigious Ocean Racer of the Year Award.

6.15pm Bar open on arrival
7.00pm Annual General Meeting 
8.00pm Light refeshments served
8.30pm  Trophy Presentation
10.00 Evening concludes


Guests welcome.

2015 BoM releases new wave charts on its Meteye system

With the Stanley race only 4 weeks away and the Christmas races looming, yachties will welcome the new initiatives on the Tasmanian BoM website.

The Bureau of Meteorology has released new wave charts on its MetEye system.

Read about them here

Visit MetEye here and select waves from the left hand menu.

2015 ACMA Marine Radio Update-Australian Waters Qualification

ACMA is celebrating World Maritime Day with the launch of the marine radio Australian Waters Qualification.

This means that boaters who use VHF marine radio in Australian Territorial Waters(within 12nm of the coast) are now able to apply for the more appropriate marine radio AWQ.

Read more HERE

2015 ORCV Notice of the Annual General Meeting and Trophy Presentation

The Annual General Meeting of Members will be held at Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron on Tuesday 6th October 2015 at 7pm.

Click  for pdf Notice of the AGM (40 KB)  and  pdf Agenda (144 KB)

Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron will host this event and the Bar will be open at 6.15pm prior to the meeting commencing at 7pm.

Following the AGM there will be an Interval for light refreshments and then the Presentation of Trophies for the 2014-15 season will take place. You are encouraged to bring your crew and guests along to enjoy the evening.