2018 Winter Series - Race One Round Up

Our new format Winter Series kicked off today, on what could only be described as a perfect Melbourne winter’s day.

All hardy crew members up early to head out to one of the 18 yachts that met us at the start line off the RMYS Breakwater, ahead of our scheduled 10:30 start, were met with a chilly 40 air temperature, and soothingly warming sunshine.

For almost a week, all competitors (and Race Managers!) were anxiously watching the forecast to see what sort of breeze, if any, we were to expect today, and although the early morning forecast suggested there may have been very little to work with, there was enough to get the fleet away on time and all yachts made steady progress on a beam reach to the first mark approximately 500m from the start, before bearing away and setting spinnakers for the next 2.5nm leg to the next mark adjacent to Station Pier, Port Melbourne.

The next leg was a reach out to R3, and this period of the race was destined to challenge all crews, giving everyone the opportunity to put their very light air sailing skills in to practice, and although a slow leg, most teams managed to maintain momentum and keep their boat moving, with only one crew finding their patience leaving them only minutes before the breeze filled in a little, to ensure the rest of the fleet had enough to keep their sails filled to find their way around the rest of the course, and back to the finish line at the RMYS Breakwater.

Tony Walton’s Hartbreaker took Line Honours at 13:31:18, and was followed closely by Russell Hibbert and his crew on Next Step, the exciting MC31.

The remainder of the fleet followed suit in a steady procession, with all 17 finishers crossing the line by 14:17.

The results were as follows:

Line Honours:

1st – Hartbreaker (Tony Walton)

2nd – Next Step (Russell Hibbert)

3rd – Schuss (Denis McConnell)

IRC Division:

1st – Schuss (Denis McConnell)

2nd – Alien (Justin Brenan)

3rd – Antagonist (James Lynch)

AMS Division:

1st – Espresso (Steve Thompson)

2nd – Xenia (Koos Theron)

3rd – Dictateur (Allan Gontar)

PHS Division

1st - Espresso (Steve Thompson)

2nd – Xenia (Koos Theron)

3rd - Next Step (Russell Hibbert)

Double Handed Division:

1st – Dictateur (Allan Gontar)

2nd – Sunshine (James Oosterweghel)

We would also like to that our Race Management Team of Robin Hewitt, Trish Peart and Matt Fahey for all of their efforts to run today’s race.

With Race One complete, we now turn our attention to preparing for our first Winter Series passage race to Blairgowrie, and we are assured the hospitality shown to the ORCV fleet by our hosts at Blairgowrie Yacht Squadron will be even warmer than it is in December at the end of the Cock of the Bay race.

We hope to see even more competitors join us for this fantastic race down the bay.

Javelin Wins 2018 Winter Series!
15 Sep 2018 02:51

Javelin Wins 2018 Winter Series! With the advent of the Race 5 abandonment today due to gale force conditions on Port Phillip, the 2018 Winter Series is now concluded. The revised series attracted 43 boats across the five events, and we are very pleased to announce Mark Nicholson and his Javelin team as the overall winners of the 2018 Winter Series, the Lord Warden’s Trophy. As the series w [ ... ]

Winter Series Race 3
03 Aug 2018 04:44

Winter Series Race 3 Preview WHO ARE THE RACE 3 CONSISTENCY KINGS? NOTICE TO COMPETITORS No.5 IS NOW PUBLISHED . They say that consistency is everything in sport, and yacht racing is no exception. As our fleet prepares for Race 3 of the 2018 Winter Series, our medium distance passage race out and back from Royal Brighton, tomorrow, there are a few teams that will be focused on consistency with [ ... ]

Friday Weather Update
20 Jul 2018 07:38

2018 Melbourne to Blairgowrie Race We have twenty two confirmed starters, the weather gods are smiling and the Blairgowrie yacht bar and kitchen are well stocked for our arrival. The latest forecast from the Bureau and Predictwind are not quite in agreement, so please watch the video for all the details  

2018 Blairgowrie Race Pen Allocations
20 Jul 2018 05:33

The Blairgowrie Yacht Club have allocated pens for the Yachts competing in this weekends Race to Blairgowrie

Other Articles