Enter the race button Race docs button Yachts entered button

Melbourne to Hobart Race Information

Distance 435nm                         
Safety Category 2
Start Location Portsea Pier
Start Time 1200 noon AEST
Start Date 27 Dec 22
Race Record

1d 17h 28m 59s  Shortwave 2008

Ave Speed over course 10.49kn

Known also as: Westcoaster

Melbourne to Hobart Race Map


About the Race

The  ORCV “Westcoaster” is a legendary yacht race where tactics and sailing well can crown you as the race champion, no matter the size of boat. 

Across the 435nm passage, yachts contend first with Bass Strait before taking on the wilderness and ruggness of the West Coast of Tasmania and the long ocean swell of the Southern Ocean before turning towards the finish line and the shifting winds of the Derwent.

For 50 years, the Westcoaster has provided sailors a unique race full of tactical challenges.


"35 times but never been the same race"  Robin Hewitt

 "It's a mind race, as much as it's a physical race" Rod Smallman 

"It's the K2 of ocean races, tactical and challenging"  Ian Lyall 



Outside Port Phillip Bay Competitors

The ORCV has arranged with two partner clubs (RMYS and RBYC) one week's complimentary berthing prior to the start of the 50th Westcoaster.  In addition, an experienced yachts person will be your "boat buddy" for assistance and guidance on where to source all things yachty related.  We will also run a "how to" online session on safely entering and exiting Port Phillip Heads in early part of December.

Both partner clubs offer additional berthing at their casual rate less 25% and are well located to public transport and shopping.



Race Documents -Click here
Race Entry & Update Entry - Click here
Yachts Entered - Click here

Thank you to the following Race Partners

DSS Boat Sticker   RBYC Logo  RMYS logo



Tuesday, 31 May 2022 09:39

Tasmanians prepare for assault on 50th Melbourne to Hobart Tasmania can lay claim to a rich history in the Ocean Racing Club of Victoria’s (ORCV) Melbourne to Hobart Yacht Race, or ‘Westcoaster’ as it’s also known, with the likes of Bob Clifford, John Saul, Michael Pritchard, David Alpin and the Escott family names engraved on the major trophies. Founder/chairman of Incat, Clifford, known colloquially as ‘Beanhead’, is the best known. He was aboard Mary Blair in the maiden race in 1972, taking line honours and creating the record of 2 days, 16 hours, 19 minutes, 7 seconds. Clifford also...

Wednesday, 27 April 2022 18:22

Ginan 50th entry for 50th Melbourne to Hobart Yacht Race     Expectations and entries are running high as the Ocean Racing Club of Victoria (ORCV) prepares to host its 50th Melbourne to Hobart Yacht Race, with Cam McKenzie and Nigel Jones’ recently purchased J/111, Ginan, marking the occasion by being the 50th entry.  McKenzie and Jones can boast a long and prosperous association with the 440 nautical mile race. It was the first ocean race for both and one they have won multiple times. It has culminated in their buying a yacht together in time for the 50th...

Saturday, 01 January 2022 09:17

Sydney 38 ‘Faster Forward’ takes handicap win in ORCV Melbourne to Hobart  One of the smallest yachts in the fleet, a Sydney 38, has won the Ocean Racing Club of Victoria Melbourne to Hobart ‘West Coaster’ Race on handicap. Matt Fahey and his crew of six sailed Faster Forward across the Derwent River finish line in Hobart at two minutes past three this morning, after more than three days at sea. For a race traditionally won by bigger boats, Faster Forward’s victory is a dream come true for Fahey and proof that experienced crew, very good light wind sailing and making the right course...

Saturday, 01 January 2022 09:15

Lord Jiminy Takes Line Honours for the Second Time At one o’clock yesterday afternoon skipper of Lord Jiminy, Guillaume Leroux, set his Class 40 to round Bruny Island. As he set course for Hobart’s finish line, he had sealed the fate of the rest of the fleet. Good timing, great sailing and a dedicated crew of just four had achieved a dream with a second Line Honours win in the tough Westocoaster having won in 2019, (cancelled in 2020). This 485 nautical mile race has been one of the slowest in its 49-year history. The race record set by Shortwave in 2008 was never under threat. It was...

Friday, 31 December 2021 01:44

Melbourne to Hobart Line Honours goes to Lord Jiminy  Guillaume Leroux’s Class 40 Lord Jiminy has claimed line honours in a challenging Melbourne to Hobart yacht race that was beset by range of strong and light winds, before ending with a perfect afternoon sea breeze in Hobart’s Derwent River. Lord Jiminy is Class 40 design and 13m in length and held a comfortable lead throughout the later stages of the race. Lord Jiminy has claimed back to back line honours wins. Lord Jiminy crew after the race Lord Jiminy crossed the line shortly after 6:20 pm in a time of three days, 3 hours,...